• Du Chicago des années 1980 au Paris d'aujourd'hui, une épopée puissante sur le pouvoir de l'amitié face à la tragédie.
    À Chicago, dans les années 1980, au coeur du quartier de Boystown, Yale Tishman et sa bande d'amis - artistes, activistes, journalistes ou professeurs... - vivent la vie libre qu'ils s'étaienttoujours imaginée. Lorsque l'épidémie du sida frappe leur communauté, les rapports changent, les liens se brouillent et se transforment. Peu à peu, tout s'effondre autour de Yale, et il ne lui reste plus que Fiona, la petite soeur de son meilleur ami Nico.Révélant un immense talent, Rebecca Makkai brosse le sublime portrait de personnages brisés qui, au milieu du chaos, n'auront pourtant de cesse de trouver la beauté et l'espoir.Lauréat de la Andrew Carnegie Medal et finaliste du National Book Award et du prix Pulitzer, Les Optimistes a déjà conquis des dizaines de milliers de lecteurs aux États-Unis et ailleurs." Rebecca Makkai met en lumière cette tragédie de l'Amérique moderne que beaucoupcherchent à oublier. Un roman habile, puissant et d'une grande beauté. " Chicago Review of Books" Un voyage saisissant... Rebecca Makkai livre une réflexion inoubliable, non sur la mort, mais sur le pouvoir de la vie. " Publishers Weekly
    Lauréat de la Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction 2018
    Finaliste du National Book Award 2018
    10 Best Books of 2018 du New York Times

  • Une saga familiale ambitieuse et ludique sous la forme de poupées russes.1999 : Bienvenue à Laurelfield, vaste demeure du Midwest et partez à la rencontre de ses propriétaires ancestraux, les Devohr. Il y a Zee, une marxiste qui méprise la richesse de ses parents, tout en vivant dans leur maison avec son mari Doug ; sa mère Grace, qui prétend pouvoir tout savoir d'une personne en regardant ses dents ; et son beau-père Bruce, occupé à faire des réserves pour l'arrivée imminente de l'an 2000. Et puis il y a Violet, son arrière-grand-mère, qui se serait suicidée quelque part dans cette grande maison et dont le portrait est toujours accroché dans la salle à manger.
    1955 : Grace et son mari violent George emménagent à Laurelfield. Rapidement, elle remarque des détails étranges qu'elle considère comme des présages d'événements à venir. Sa vie commence alors à changer...
    1929 : Laurelfield est une colonie d'artistes hétéroclite et bohèmes où se retrouve la fine fleur de la création artistique de l'époque. Le petit groupe passe son temps entre poursuites artistiques et débauche sous les yeux du portrait de Violet Devhor, qui hanterait les lieux.
    "Une saga familiale [...] ainsi que le quotidien de ses habitants excentriques." (LH Spécial, 11/12/20)

  • In this delightful, funny and moving first novel, a librarian and a young boy obsessed with reading take to the road.

    Lucy Hull, a 26-year-old children's librarian in Hannibal, Missouri, finds herself both kidnapper and kidnapped when her favourite patron, 10-year-old Ian Drake, runs away from home. The precocious Ian is addicted to reading, but needs Lucy's help to smuggle books past his overbearing mother, who has enrolled Ian in weekly anti-gay classes.

    Lucy, a rebel at heart beneath her librarian's exterior, stumbles into a moral dilemma when she finds Ian camped out in the library after hours, with a knapsack of provisions and an escape plan. Desperate to save him from the Drakes, Lucy allows herself to be hijacked by Ian. The odd pair embark on an improvised road trip from Missouri to Vermont, with ferrets and an inconvenient boyfriend thrown in their path. Along the way, Lucy struggles to make peace with her Russian immigrant father and his fugitive past, and is forced to use his shady connections to escape discovery.

    But is it just Ian who is running away? Who is the strange man on their tail? And should Lucy be trying to save a boy from his own parents?

  • The acclaimed author of The Borrower returns with a dazzlingly original, mordantly witty novel about the secrets of an old-money family and their turn-of-the-century estate, Laurelfield.



    Meet the Devohrs: Zee, a Marxist literary scholar who detests her parents' wealth but nevertheless finds herself living in their carriage house; Gracie, her mother, who claims she can tell your lot in life by looking at your teeth; and Bruce, her step-father, stockpiling supplies for the Y2K apocalypse and perpetually late for his tee time. Then there's Violet Devohr, Zee's great-grandmother, who they say took her own life somewhere in the vast house, and whose massive oil portrait still hangs in the dining room.



    Violet's portrait was known to terrify the artists who resided at the house from the 1920s to the 1950s, when it served as the Laurelfield Arts Colony - and this is exactly the period Zee's husband, Doug, is interested in. An out-of-work academic whose only hope of a future position is securing a book deal, Doug is stalled on his biography of the poet Edwin Parfitt, once in residence at the colony. All he needs to get the book back on track - besides some motivation and self-esteem - is access to the colony records, rotting away in the attic for decades. But when Doug begins to poke around where he shouldn't, he finds Gracie guards the files with a strange ferocity, raising questions about what she might be hiding. The secrets of the hundred-year house would turn everything Doug and Zee think they know about her family on its head - that is, if they were to ever uncover them.



    In this brilliantly conceived, ambitious, and deeply rewarding novel, Rebecca Makkai unfolds a generational saga in reverse, leading the reader back in time on a literary scavenger hunt as we seek to uncover the truth about these strange people and this mysterious house. With intelligence and humor, a daring narrative approach, and a lovingly satirical voice, Rebecca Makkai has crafted an unforgettable novel about family, fate and the incredible surprises life can offer.

  • Named one of the must-read books of the summer by BuzzFeed, The Huffington Post and The L Magazine Rebecca Makkais first two novels, The Borrower and The Hundred-Year House have established her as one of the freshest and most imaginative voices in fiction. Now, the acclaimed writer returns with a highly anticipated collection of short stories marked with her signature mix of intelligence, wit, and heart.
    A reality show producer manipulates two contestants into falling in love, while her own relationship falls apart. Just after the fall of the Berlin Wall, a young boy has a revelation about his fathers past when a renowned Romanian violinist plays a concert in their home. In an unnamed country, a composer records the folk songs of two women from a village on the brink of destruction.
    Makkai has been anthologized four times in The Best American Short Stories as well as The Best American Nonrequired Reading. These wide-ranging and deeply moving stories--some inspired by her family history--will delight her many fans, as well as readers of Lorrie Moore, Jim Shepard, and Karen Russell.

  • "Rarely is a first novel as smart and engaging and learned and funny and moving as The Borrower." --Richard Russo, author of Pulitzer Prize–winning Empire Falls
    Lucy Hull, a children’s librarian in Hannibal, Missouri, finds herself both kidnapper and kidnapped when her favorite patron, ten-year-old Ian Drake, runs away from home. Ian needs Lucy’s help to smuggle books past his overbearing mother, who has enrolled Ian in weekly antigay classes. Desperate to save him from the Drakes, Lucy allows herself to be hijacked by Ian when she finds him camped out in the library after hours, and the odd pair embarks on a crazy road trip. But is it just Ian who is running away? And should Lucy be trying to save a boy from his own parents?

  • The acclaimed author of The Borrower returns with a dazzlingly original, mordantly witty novel about the secrets of an old-money family and their turn-of-the-century estate, Laurelfield.
    'Rebecca Makkai is a writer to watch, as sneakily ambitious as she is unpretentious." -Richard Russo Meet the Devohrs: Zee, a Marxist literary scholar who detests her parents' wealth but nevertheless finds herself living in their carriage house; Gracie, her mother, who claims she can tell your lot in life by looking at your teeth; and Bruce, her step-father, stockpiling supplies for the Y2K apocalypse and perpetually late for his tee time. Then there's Violet Devohr, Zee's great-grandmother, who they say took her own life somewhere in the vast house, and whose massive oil portrait still hangs in the dining room.
    Violet's portrait was known to terrify the artists who resided at the house from the 1920s to the 1950s, when it served as the Laurelfield Arts Colony-'and this is exactly the period Zee's husband, Doug, is interested in. An out-of-work academic whose only hope of a future position is securing a book deal, Doug is stalled on his biography of the poet Edwin Parfitt, once in residence at the colony. All he needs to get the book back on track-'besides some motivation and self-esteem-'is access to the colony records, rotting away in the attic for decades. But when Doug begins to poke around where he shouldn't, he finds Gracie guards the files with a strange ferocity, raising questions about what she might be hiding. The secrets of the hundred-year house would turn everything Doug and Zee think they know about her family on its head-'that is, if they were to ever uncover them.
    In this brilliantly conceived, ambitious, and deeply rewarding novel, Rebecca Makkai unfolds a generational saga in reverse, leading the reader back in time on a literary scavenger hunt as we seek to uncover the truth about these strange people and this mysterious house. With intelligence and humor, a daring narrative approach, and a lovingly satirical voice, Rebecca Makkai has crafted an unforgettable novel about family, fate and the incredible surprises life can offer.
    For readers of Dodie Smith's I Capture the Castle

empty