• De feu et d'or

    Jacqueline Woodson

    • Stock
    • 10 Mars 2021

    « Chaque page, sublime, est une nouvelle révélation, un nouvel événement bouleversant, ou dévoile un nouveau souvenir. »Edwidge Danticat  Nous sommes en 2001, le soir d'une fête donnée en l'honneur de Melody et de ses seize ans, dans la maison familiale de Brooklyn. Couvée du regard par ses parents et amis, elle fait son entrée sur une musique de Prince, dans une robe blanche taillée sur mesure. Une tristesse flotte néanmoins dans l'atmosphère. Seize ans plus tôt, cette même robe fut cousue pour une autre jeune fille : Iris, la mère de Melody, pour fêter aussi son entrée dans l'âge adulte. Une célébration qui n'eut finalement jamais lieu. Iris était enceinte.
      Déroulant l'histoire de Melody, de son père, d'Iris et de ses parents - du massacre de Tulsa en 1921 au 11 septembre 2001 - pour comprendre comment ils en sont arrivés là, Jacqueline Woodson reconstitue non seulement leurs ambitions et leur fureur de vivre, mais aussi le prix qu'ils ont payé pour échapper à leur destin si profondément façonné par des décennies de racisme. En explorant le désir et l'identité sexuels, la maternité, l'éducation, la classe et le statut social, De feu et d'or décrit de façon magistrale la manière dont les jeunes doivent si souvent prendre des décisions irrévocables pour leur futur - avant même de savoir qui ils sont et ce qu'ils veulent devenir.  Traduit de l'anglais (États-Unis) par Sylvie Schneiter

  • Un autre Brooklyn

    Jacqueline Woodson

    • Stock
    • 3 Janvier 2018

    « La première fois que j'ai vu Sylvia, Angela et Gigi, ce fut au cours de cet été-là. Elles marchaient dans notre rue, en short et débardeur, bras dessus bras dessous, têtes rejetées en arrière, secouées de rire. Je les ai suivies du regard jusqu'à ce qu'elles disparaissent, me demandant qui elles étaient, comment elles s'y étaient prises pour... devenir. » 
    Traduit de l'anglais (États-Unis) par Sylvie Schneiter

  • A lyrical story of star-crossed love perfect for readers of The Hate U Give, by National Ambassador for Children’s Literature Jacqueline Woodson--now celebrating its twentieth anniversary, and including a new preface by the author
    Jeremiah feels good inside his own skin. That is, when he's in his own Brooklyn neighborhood. But now he's going to be attending a fancy prep school in Manhattan, and black teenage boys don't exactly fit in there. So it's a surprise when he meets Ellie the first week of school. In one frozen moment their eyes lock, and after that they know they fit together--even though she's Jewish and he's black. Their worlds are so different, but to them that's not what matters. Too bad the rest of the world has to get in their way.
    Jacqueline Woodson's work has been called “moving and resonant” (Wall Street Journal) and “gorgeous” (Vanity Fair). If You Come Softly is a powerful story of interracial love that leaves readers wondering "why" and "if only . . ."

  • Anglais Locomotion

    Woodson Jacqueline

    More information to be announced soon on this forthcoming title from Penguin USA

  • The stunning companion to the National Book Award finalist--from a three-time Newbery Honor winning author
    Twelve-year-old Lonnie is finally feeling at home with his foster family. But because he's living apart from his little sister, Lili, he decides it's his job to be the 'rememberer'-'and write down everything that happens while they're growing up. Lonnie's musings are bittersweet; he's happy that he and Lili have new families, but though his new family brings him joy, it also brings new worries. With a foster brother in the army, concepts like Peace have new meaning for Lonnie.Told through letters from Lonnie to Lili, this thought-provoking companion to Jacqueline Woodson's National Book Award finalist Locomotion tackles important issues in captivating, lyrical language. Lonnie's reflections on family, loss, love and peace will strike a note with readers of all ages.

  • Anglais The Dear One

    Woodson Jacqueline

    An intriguing look at teen pregnancy from a three-time Newbery Honor winning author Feni is furious when she finds out that her mother has agreed to take a fifteen-year-old pregnant girl into their home until her baby is born. What kind of girl would let herself get into so much trouble? How can Feni live under the same roof as someone like that? Her worst fears are confirmed when Rebecca arrives: she is mean, bossy, and uneducated. Feni decided she will have nothing to do with her. But it's hard not to be curious about a girl so close to her own age who seems so different...

  • A lyrical coming-of-age story from a three-time Newbery Honor winning author Thirteen-year-old Staggerlee used to be called Evangeline, but she took on a fiercer name. She's always been different--set apart by the tragic deaths of her grandparents in an anti-civil rights bombing, by her parents' interracial marriage, and by her family's retreat from the world. This summer she has a new reason to feel set apart--her confused longing for her friend Hazel. When cousin Trout comes to stay, she gives Staggerlee a first glimpse of her possible future selves and the world beyond childhood.

  • Anglais Lena

    Woodson Jacqueline

    A compelling story of survival from a three-time Newbery Honor winning author At the end of I Hadn't Meant to Tell You This, Lena and her younger sister, Dion, set off on their own, desperate to escape their abusive father. Disguised as boys, they hitchhike along, traveling in search of their mother's relatives. They don't know what they will find, or who they can trust along the way, but they do know that they can't afford to make even one single mistake. Dramatic and moving, this is a heart-wrenching story of two young girls in search of a place to call home.

  • Anglais Hush

    Woodson Jacqueline

    A powerfully moving novel from a three-time Newbery Honor-winning author Evie Thomas is not who she used to be. Once she had a best friend, a happy home and a loving grandmother living nearby. Once her name was Toswiah.
    Now, everything is different. Her family has been forced to move to a new place and change their identities. But that's not all that has changed. Her once lively father has become depressed and quiet. Her mother leaves teaching behind and clings to a new-found religion. Her only sister is making secret plans to leave.
    And Evie, struggling to find her way in a new city where kids aren't friendly and the terrain is as unfamiliar as her name, wonders who she is.
    Jacqueline Woodson weaves a fascinating portrait of a thoughtful young girl's coming of age in a world turned upside down A National Book Award Finalist

  • Anglais Behind You

    Woodson Jacqueline

    A moving story of love and loss from a three-time Newbery winning author You are so light you move with the wind and the snow. . . . And it lifts you up-over a world of sadness and anger and fear. Over a world of first kisses and hands touching and someone you're falling in love with. She's there now. Right there. . . .

    Miah and Ellie were in love. Even though Miah was black and Ellie was white, they made sense together. Then Miah was killed. This was the ending.
    And it was the beginning of grief for the many people who loved Miah. Now his mother has stopped trying, his friends are lost and Ellie doesn't know how to move on. And there is Miah, watching all of this&150unable to let go.
    How do we go on after losing someone we love? This is the question the living and the dead are asking.
    With the help of each other, the living will come together. Miah will sit beside them. They will feel Miah in the wind, see him in the light, hear him in their music. And Miah will watch over them, until he is sure each of those he loved is all right.
    This beautiful sequel to Jacqueline Woodson's If You Come Softly explores the experiences of those left behind after tragedy. It is a novel in which through hope, understanding and love, healing begins.

  • The day D Foster enters Neeka and her best friends lives, the world opens up for them. Suddenly theyre keenly aware of things beyond their block in Queens, things that are happening in the world--like the shooting of Tupac Shakur--and in search of their Big Purpose in life. When--all too soon--Ds mom swoops in to reclaim her, and Tupac dies, they are left with a sense of how quickly things can change and how even all-too-brief connections can touch deeply.
    A Discussion Guide to After Tupac and D Foster by Jacqueline Woodson

  • Jacqueline Woodson, one of today's finest writers, tells the moving story of her childhood in mesmerizing verse.
    Raised in South Carolina and New York, Woodson always felt halfway home in each place. In vivid poems, she shares what it was like to grow up as an African American in the 1960s and 1970s, living with the remnants of Jim Crow and her growing awareness of the Civil Rights movement. Touching and powerful, each poem is both accessible and emotionally charged, each line a glimpse into a child's soul as she searches for her place in the world. Woodson's eloquent poetry also reflects the joy of finding her voice through writing stories, despite the fact that she struggled with reading as a child. Her love of stories inspired her and stayed with her, creating the first sparks of the gifted writer she was to become.
    Praise for Jacqueline Woodson:
    Ms. Woodson writes with a sure understanding of the thoughts of young people, offering a poetic, eloquent narrative that is not simply a story . . . but a mature exploration of grown-up issues and self-discovery.'-'The New York Times Book Review

empty