Nikola Scott

  • Addie pensait tout savoir de sa mère, Elizabeth, tout juste disparue. Mais le jour où une jeune femme surgit sur le pas de sa porte, prétendant être sa soeur, Addie vacille.
    Tout ce qu'elle a toujours cru n'était donc que mensonges ?
    Et que s'est-il passé, au cours de ce bel été de l'année 1958 qu'Elizabeth a passé avec la richissime famille Shaw dans leur manoir de Hartland, sur la côte sauvage du sud-ouest de l'Angleterre ?

  • - 54%

    Alors qu'elle s'apprête à donner naissance à son premier enfant, Chloe semble tout avoir pour être heureuse. Pourtant, derrière la façade d'une vie de famille parfaite, c'est une jeune femme blessée. Un jour, le hasard conduit ses pas à Summerhill, une grande propriété en bord de mer.
    C'est là que vit Madeleine, une vieille dame qui a passé toute sa vie dans ce lieu enchanteur. Malgré leur différence d'âge, les deux femmes se rapprochent et Chloe devine que de douloureux secrets hantent Madeleine depuis la fin des années 1930. Alors que le monde bruissait des rumeurs de la guerre, les drames se sont succédé derrière les grilles de Summerhill.
    Chloé découvre que sa vie et celle de la vieille dame ont d'étranges similitudes. Dans les méandres de l'histoire de cette famille, Chloe va chercher à percer ses propres secrets...

  • Addie thinks she knows everything about her mother. But when a stranger appears claiming to be her sister, she realises that her life so far has been a lie. But why?'Intriguing, twisting... I loved it' Dinah Jefferies. 'A gripping family mystery told in lush, evocative prose' Erin Kelly. 'A well-written, intriguing read full of family secrets... Brilliant' Fabulous
    Perfect for fans of BEFORE WE WERE YOURS by Lisa Wingate. Hartland House has always been a faithful keeper of secrets...
    1958. Sent to beautiful Hartland to be sheltered from her mother's illness, Liz spends the summer with the wealthy Shaw family. They treat Liz as one of their own, but their influence could be dangerous...Now. Addie believes she knows everything about her mother Elizabeth and their difficult relationship until her recent death. When a stranger appears claiming to be Addie's sister, she is stunned. Is everything she's been told about her early life a lie?How can you find the truth about the past if the one person who could tell you is gone? Addie must go back to that golden summer her mother never spoke of...and the one night that changed a young girl's life for ever.'A compelling family story... Beautifully written and evokes vivid pictures of an English summer in the 1950s' Sheila O'Flanagan.'Trembles with family secrets' Victoria FoxWhat readers are saying about My Mother's Shadow: 'One of the most enthralling, heartbreaking books that I have read in quite some time' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars 'The poignant storyline is deeply affecting. Definitely a book that is going to stay with me for a long time' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'So beautifully written. In places it made me laugh out loud and in other places it made me cry. Poignant' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars'I was hooked from beginning to end! Vivid characters and evocative scenes make this an enchanting read' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars'Stunning and emotional' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars'This novel absolutely blew me away! I was left emotional and teary. It had me gripped from the start and is loaded with scenes that pull at the heartstrings! I cannot recommend this novel enough' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'A stunning read and I can't wait to read more from this author' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

empty